Sorry but I am just not a fan of Colby's

Everything Wyoming Cowboy and Mountain West football!
PotatoCreekPete
Cowpoke

Before the season started, I said that I felt that the QB position was a true weakness for Wyoming and unfortunately after the first 5 games I feel that it is.

I certainly wish that I could say that Colby had surprised me but unfortunately I have to say that he has played like I thought that he would. I have no doubt that Colby is a great young man and this has nothing to do with him as a person or as a student, I am simply looking at his on field performance and I would have to rate Colby as a "serviceable" QB.

Unfortunately Colby has thrown too many Int's (4) and has fumbled the ball too many times, and taken way too many sacks. Not all of the sacks are on the OL, some of them are on QB and Colby hasn't found the ability earlier in the season to throw the ball out of bounds to avoid a sack. Granted Wyoming has played two top teams and this skews the stats some, but when you look at Colby's and the Wyoming offenses stats up until this time, it just shows an offense that simply has not ever clicked or gotten going. Wyoming doesn't have a game where they have scored over 20 points! That isn't an impressive number. Secondly, Wyoming's offense through 5 games has just 85 first downs vs 110 for the opponents. Wyoming has 33 rushing first downs and 47 passing first downs (5 by penalty) while the opponents have had 55 first downs by rushing and 52 first downs by passing.

Wyoming's offense has 1007 passing yards for the season and the opponents have 1033 passing yards, so this is almost identical. But Wyoming's defense has not had an interception while Wyoming has given up 4 interceptions. Colby has only thrown 5 TD's for the season while throwing 4 Int's, the last thing you want is an almost 50-50 split for TD's to Int's.